Formula Drift Crossroads: Weekend Recap

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Josh Tons

The big three of Formula Drift were the top three in St. Louis—and the 2019 championship chase is as tight as it’s been all year.

Two-time defending series champion James Deane finally won his first event of the season at World Wide Technology Raceway at Gateway, taking down points leader Frederic Aasbo in the final matchup of Saturday’s bracket. After watching fellow Worthouse Drift Team driver Piotr Wiecek win at Evergreen Speedway, Deane earned the top qualifying score and eventually took down his teammate before staring down Aasbo in the final.

The win allowed Deane to pull within a single point of Aasbo (413-412) with just two events remaining. Wiecek is third with 379, two points clear of Odi Bakchis, while Ryan Tuerck completes the top five. All five have won races so far in 2019, but Bakchis’ sweep of the opening two rounds of the season in Long Beach and Orlando make him the only multiple winner of the year.

Check out Josh Tons’ exclusive gallery from the event here!

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button