Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series at Wheatland: Weekend Preview

Coverage presented by General Tire

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series

Just one week after the Lucas Oil Midwest Short Course League made its debut at Crandon International Raceway, the 2018 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series resumes with Rounds 4 and 5 of its 12-race schedule. Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO will play host to the 2nd Annual Geico Off-Road Shootout presented by General Tire, as the series returns from Mexico to take on its easternmost round of the season.

This year’s event moves up a month from its 2017 date as part of a three-way swap in this year’s schedule. Utah Motorsports Campus, the previous June host, moved back to August 24-25 on the 2018 calendar, shuffling Missouri up to this weekend and Sparks, NV’s Wild West Motorsports Park from August to July. Of the group, only the Nevada round won’t be a doubleheader; in fact, owing to the postponement of the original season opener at Glen Helen Raceway, Wild West hosts the only remaining single-round event of this year’s championship.

RJ Anderson enters the event as a dual threat for the championship, having taken a win and four podiums between the Pro 4 and Pro 2 classes at Estero Beach last month. He leads the Pro 4 standings by 11 points over Doug Mittag, who won the second Estero Beach final, and trails Pro 2 championship leader Rob MacCachren by only eight in that class. Carl Renezeder and Mittag split the Pro 4 races in Wheatland last year, while Brian Deegan and defending series champion Jeremy McGrath enter as the defending Pro 2 round winners.

The Pro Lite battle, meanwhile, is a three-way dogfight at the top between Ryan Beat, Christopher Polvoorde, and Brandon Arthur. Beat’s season-opening win at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park preceded dual podiums in Mexico, and enabled him to hold onto a five-point lead despite Polvoorde’s sweep of that race. Arthur, who won the second Pro Lite and Production 1000 UTV races in Missouri last year, has three podiums of his own to kick off the season.

Two-time 2018 winner Myles Cheek leads the Production 1000 UTV standings by six points over 2017 champion Brock Heger, but Heger enters the event as one of its defending winners, as well as a win of his own in Mexico this year. Meanwhile, Pro Buggy points leader Bud Ward will look to improve on finishes of fourth and ninth in last year’s Missouri stop; Eliott Watson (fourth in points) and Darren Hardesty (third after sweeping both Mexican rounds) will look to defend last year’s victories.

This year’s event at Lucas Oil Speedway features an expanded race program, with the addition of Turbo UTV, JR1 Kart, and JR2 Kart to the event schedule. Paul O’Brien leads the Turbo UTV standings by seven points over Corry Weller with a win and three podiums, while Jake Bollman and Connor Barry won the season-opening JR1 and JR2 Kart races at Wild Horse Pass.

The 2nd Annual Geico Off-Road Shootout presented by General Tire at Lucas Oil Speedway will stream live on LucasOilRacing.TV on Saturday and Sunday at 3PM ET/12PM PT. Fans looking to watch on TV can see the event on Sunday, July 15 and Saturday, August 18 at 2PM ET/11AM PT on CBS, with a number of additional showings on both MAVTV and the CBS Sports Network.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button