Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series GEICO Off Road Championship: Weekend Recap

Coverage presented by General Tire

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series

It was all about Kyle LeDuc in Saturday’s Pro Truck action from Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, as the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series wrapped up its 2019 season by stacking its points-paying finale and Challenge Cup events on the same day. LeDuc locked up the Pro 4 title with a win to start the afternoon before conquering a 20-truck field in the annual Pro 4 vs. Pro 2 showdown to close out the night.

He wasn’t the only driver to clinch a championship with a big victory, though, as Jerett Brooks accomplished the same feat in Pro 2. Both LeDuc and Brooks took their titles over RJ Anderson, last year’s Pro 4 champion, who finished in the runner-up spot in both races as well. In Pro Lite, Mickey Thomas took the checkered flag ahead of Ronnie Anderson and Cole Mamer, but Ryan Beat’s fourth place was enough to allow him to hang onto his second straight class title.

Ronnie Anderson did what he had to do in Turbo UTV to try and steal the top spot from Corry Weller, earning both the pole and win, but Weller’s runner-up finish gave her the championship by six points. Likewise, Brock Heger’s victory wasn’t enough to defend his P1000 UTV title from last year, as Robert Stout’s third place result was enough to give him the title by just five points. Other class champions included Eliott Watson in Pro Buggy, Mason Prater in Mod Kart, Broedy Graham in JR2 Kart, and George Llamosas in RZR 170.

Mamer snagged the Pro Lite Challenge Cup victory on Saturday night by taking down Heger and Thomas, while Heger came home the bridesmaid as well in the first-ever Turbo vs. P1000 UTV Challenge Cup race when Robert VanBeekum got past him for the win. That set up an intense battle between the Pro 4s and Pro 2s with some interesting additions to the field: Ronnie Anderson would step up to brother RJ’s Pro 2, while midwest standouts Keegan Kincaid and Andrew Carlson would also take part in their respective Pro 2s with the smaller engine package.

While Kincaid and Carlson paced the race early with their head start, Kincaid’s hopes of stealing the $30,000 top prize ended early with a flat tire, Ronnie Anderson suffered a spectacular rollover (though he was uninjured), and Carlson eventually proved to be no match for the Pro 4s. In the end, it was LeDuc, RJ Anderson, and Greg Adler atop the podium, in exactly the same order as they ran in their points race earlier in the day.

With the 2019 Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series season drawn to a close, short course fans will be on edge waiting for the 2020 calendar. The chances of drivers running a full national program are likely more remote due to the dissolution of the Lucas Oil Midwest Short Course League, but LOORRS fans can likely expect all of the series’ biggest names and tracks back for next year.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button