Method Race Wheels Laughlin Desert Classic: Weekend Recap

Coverage presented by General Tire

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Best in the Desert (1); Harlen Foley/UTVUnderground.com (2)

Led by 22-year-old Christian Sourapas, Sourapas Motorsports’ new all-wheel drive Trick Truck swept both days of action to take the overall victory in last weekend’s Method Race Wheels Laughlin Desert Classic presented by Polaris. The second to last round of the 2018 Best in the Desert season, Sourapas posted a total time of 2:06:36.394, including six of eight laps in the 15-minute range.

Racers would complete eight laps on the 16-mile Laughlin course, four on Saturday and four on Sunday. Brandon Arthur posted the top qualifying time for Trick Trucks on Thursday, followed by defending BITD champion Jason Voss. Sourapas’ truck, qualified by his father Steve, was third on the speed charts, while Cole Potts and Justin Lofton completed the top five.

But Arthur would only complete a single lap over the weekend, leaving a close battle for the victory among some of the series’ top title contenders. Five Trick Trucks were within three minutes of one another after Saturday, with Sourapas leading Voss, Ryan Poelman, Justin Matney, and Tracy Graf in the overnight standings. Graf would climb to second with a strong Sunday showing, completing the second day within a minute and a half of Sourapas, while Poelman would hold on to complete the class podium.

Bill Wingerning led Class 1500 with a time of 2:07:46.106, just over a minute behind Sourapas’ overall winning time. Ryan Hancock topped Andrew Whitehead for the Class 6100 win by just over two minutes after top qualifier and Saturday leader Blade Hildebrand faltered slightly on Sunday.

UTVs also competed in Laughlin, but ran their own event on Thursday. The Baja Designs UTV Night Race was the first event in BITD history to be contested completely in the dark, and saw its racers complete all eight laps of racing in a single day. Defending UTV Turbo champion Phil Blurton continued his charge to a second straight title with a five minute-plus victory over Justin Lambert, while Brett Comiskey (UTV Unlimited), Robert Van Beekum (UTV Production), and Garrick Lastra (UTV Sportsman) were the other class winners.

The 2018 Best in the Desert season concludes from November 29-December 2 with the Pahrump Nugget 250 presented by Polaris. While official points have not yet been confirmed, expect the season finale to shake up the standings regardless, as it will be the second and final double points race of this year’s championship.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button