Nitro Rallycross Reveals Track Layout, TV/Streaming Information

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Nitro Rallycross

The inaugural Nitro Rallycross, part of Nitro World Games, was announced earlier this year to take place at Utah Motorsports Campus in Tooele, Utah on September 22-23. The popular motorsports venue, home to a number of other racing series as varied as Pirelli World Challenge and the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series, will be home to a brand new course layout featuring a three-way section that includes a gap jump, rhythm section, and heavy amounts of dirt.

“In typical NWG fashion, we will be adding to the excitement by building the biggest jumps ever seen on a rallycross course to date,” said Travis Pastrana, the founder of Nitro Circus and one of three drivers who will compete for Subaru Rally Team USA in the event. “Typical rallycross is fun. But Nitro Rallycross is going to take the sport to another level of excitement for the drivers and our fans.”

The rendering of the course shows three possible routes around the course: an over-under portion featuring a tabletop jump, similar to what Red Bull Global Rallycross used at Los Angeles in 2015, with a massive gap jump over the top of it. It’s altogether possible that, depending on race strategy, fans could see three drivers on all three levels of the course at the same time.

Perhaps the most innovative portions of the course, though, are the banked dirt corners and the dirt rhythm section toward the back of the layout. The former should allow for drivers to get side-by-side as they slide through the corners, but the latter will test the limits of the machinery as vehicles need to hold up to a series of smaller jumps.

While a full entry list has not been officially confirmed, today’s news at NitroWorldGames.com revealed a list of nine drivers. Those names are shown here with their typical car numbers, race teams, and manufacturers:

  • #00 Steve Arpin, Loenbro Motorsports/Hoonigan Racing Division Ford
  • #5 Mattias Ekstrom, EKS RX Audi
  • #18 Patrik Sandell, Subaru Rally Team USA
  • #21 Timmy Hansen, Peugeot Sport Hansen
  • #34 Tanner Foust, Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross
  • #41 Scott Speed, Volkswagen Andretti Rallycross
  • #43 Ken Block, Loenbro Motorsports/Hoonigan Racing Division Ford
  • #55 Chris Atkinson, Subaru Rally Team USA
  • #199 Travis Pastrana, Subaru Rally Team USA

Ekstrom and Hansen are among the competitors who will already be competing at FIA World Rallycross’ inaugural visit to the United States at Circuit of the Americas on September 29-30, and are both backed by Nitro Rallycross sponsor Red Bull. There is currently no official word on the competition status of a number of other popular drivers, including Ekstrom’s teammate Andreas Bakkerud, Hansen’s teammate and 2012 X Games gold medalist Sebastien Loeb, or multiple X Games gold medalist Liam Doran.

Nitro Rallycross is scheduled to be broadcast live on the Velocity television network and on the Motor Trend app.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button