FeaturesThe Week That Was

The Week That Was: Impressive Performances in Baja, Australia, and More

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via SCORE International (1-2); Red Bull Content Pool (3)

Action motorsports’ top competitors did what they do best on three different continents this weekend. While the 2018 SCORE World Desert Championship wrapped up with the iconic Baja 1000 in Mexico, the FIA World Rally Championship crowned its title winners at Kennards Hire Rally Australia, and many of the world’s top motocross riders headed to Europe for the annual Supercross de Paris at Paris La Defense Arena. Here’s a look at who stood out around the globe this weekend:

Baja 1000 Trophy Truck: Cameron Steele

Fresh off a win at the Tijuana Desert Challenge and Off-Road Motorsports Hall of Fame induction, Steele ended the 2018 SCORE World Desert Championship on a high note by taking the victory at the Baja 1000. Taking over from Pat Dean at mile 538, Steele was the second driver to get to the finish behind season champion Rob MacCachren, but took the win after penalties were assessed. It was Steele’s second career victory and first Trophy Truck win in Baja.

Baja 1000 Motorcycle: Justin Morgan

For the 38th time in race history, a motorcycle was the fastest overall entry at the Baja 1000, as Justin Morgan’s team took the victory to complete a perfect season and take the 2018 SCORE World Desert Championship on their Honda. Morgan, Mark Samuels, and Justin Jones split riding duties and led from start to finish. Their win was the first time since 2013 that a motorcycle was the fastest overall entry in the race, when a team led by Tim Weigand (and also featuring Samuels) took the win.

Baja 1000 UTV: Wayne Matlock

Matlock wrapped up the Pro UTV Forced Induction title and a nearly perfect SCORE World Desert Championship season with a victory this weekend, after winning the season opener in San Felipe and finishing second in both the Baja 500 and Tijuana. Matlock, who handled driving duties by himself this weekend, beat Derek Murray’s runner-up team by over 45 minutes, and Rhys Millen’s third place squad by over an hour.

WRC: Sebastien Ogier/Julien Ingrassia

Ogier/Ingrassia won their sixth consecutive WRC titles on Sunday at Rally Australia with a flawless, if not spectacular, drive all weekend long. As top competitors Thierry Neuville/Nicolas Gilsoul and Ott Tanak/Martin Jarveoja suffered DNFs, Ogier/Ingrassia persevered to give M-Sport Ford WRT its second drivers’ title in a row, and even added five bonus points by clinching the Power Stage. They’ll move on to Citroen Total Abu Dhabi WRT in 2019, looking to give the team its first title since 2012.

Supercross de Paris: Jason Anderson

The 2018 Monster Energy Supercross champion may have lost a huge chunk of his Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season to injury, but Anderson showed in Paris that he’s back and ready to defend his title in 2019. Anderson swept both Saturday and Sunday’s finals to earn the title of King of Paris over a field that included Dylan Ferrandis, Zach Osborne, Justin Brayton, and Justin Hill, among others. Anderson also won one of the two sprint races on each day to go four for six overall.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button