FeaturesThe Week That Was

The Week That Was: Impressive Performances in Las Vegas, Laughlin, and More

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Supercross (1); Best in the Desert (2); Formula Drift (3)

Two top action motorsports series ended their respective 2018 seasons, while two others continued to chase their conclusions, in a huge weekend of action motorsports on Saturday and Sunday. And that’s not even getting to the million dollars that were on the line in Las Vegas for anyone who could win all three races in the eighth annual Monster Energy Cup for Supercross’ top riders!

Today, we have a look at the top performers on both two wheels and four in everything from Trick Trucks to Daytona Prototypes from a busy weekend in racing. Here are the names that deserve special recognition for what they were able to accomplish this weekend:

Monster Energy Cup: Eli Tomac

While teammate Joey Savatgy moving over in the final race may have left a sour taste in some folks’ mouths, there’s no question that Tomac was a worthy Monster Energy Cup winner. The 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross 450 champion won eight Monster Energy Supercross races this season, and swept all three 10-lap Cup races on Saturday night to become just the third rider to earn the event’s $1 million bonus—but more importantly, he became the first rider to become a repeat winner at the all-star race.

Best in the Desert: Christian Sourapas

28 Trick Trucks headlined this weekend’s Method Race Wheels Laughlin Desert Classic, and 15 managed to complete all eight laps in the unique two-day event. But none did it faster than the #6 Mason Motorsports truck led by Sourapas, which completed the circuits in 2:06:36.394, nearly four minutes faster than the second-place Ford of championship contender Tracy Graf. The BITD season concludes in just over a month with the season-ending Pahrump Nugget “250.”

IMSA: Felipe Nasr/Eric Curran

Stellar fuel strategy gave Nasr and Curran this year’s WeatherTech SportsCar Championship Prototype class title, the fourth for Action Express Racing in the last five seasons. As their teammates ran out of gas three turns from the finish line, Nasr nursed the team’s Cadillac to the line eighth, just one spot behind CORE autosport, to preserve a narrow margin in the point standings. The team earned one victory this year on Belle Isle in June, and added five podium finishes to take this year’s championship.

Formula Drift: Vaughn Gittin Jr.

James Deane may have been the man of the hour in Irwindale after locking up his second straight Formula Drift title, but it was Gittin who won the battle to snap a two-year winless streak. Facing a fired up Fredric Aasbo, who needed a race victory to win the championship, Gittin persevered even as the judges called for One More Time twice to cap off the 2018 season. It was Gittin’s 10th career Formula Drift victory, and his first at Irwindale since he took his first career win there a decade earlier.

NHRA: Steve Torrence

(Editor’s note: Copy-and-paste friendly for future events.) Determined to win this year’s NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Top Fuel title after losing out last year, Torrence continued his perfect run through this year’s Countdown to the Championship with another victory on Sunday. Buoyed by yet another impressive qualifying run, the Texan burned through the field yet again to continue extending his points lead as the season continues to tick down to the championship finale at Auto Club Raceway at Pomona.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button