The Week That Was: Impressive Performances in Reno, Monroe, and More

All across America, action motorsports had quite the weekend this past weekend with starring performances in everything from stage rally to short course. From Formula Drift’s return to action in Washington state, to a late night for the Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series in Nevada, here were some of the drivers and teams who stood out over the past weekend:

Formula Drift: James Deane

The first repeat winner of the 2018 Formula Drift season was a predictable one: last year’s champion and the defending winner at Evergreen Speedway, Deane once again showed the field how it was done in this year’s Throwdown. The series’ most recent winner at Wall Speedway capitalized on a second-round elimination for top challenger Fredric Aasbo, and beat Ryan Tuerck in the final to earn the victory. His advantage over Aasbo is now 85 points heading into St. Louis.

Rally America: Steve Bis/Scott McCarty

An insanely high-attrition Rally Colorado saw Bis/McCarty take their redemption for road delays last year that cost them a chance at overall victory. After running half of Friday’s final stage with a flat tire that wore through a spring, they were able to borrow a replacement from another team to continue to race. When early Saturday leaders Adam Short/Danny Norkus suffered mechanical issues, Bis/McCarty inherited the lead and never looked back, leading an all-Colorado based overall podium.

Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series: RJ Anderson

On a weekend of unpredictability for LOORRS, as the racing at Wild West Motorsports Park was delayed until the night for weather and no Pro driver took podiums in multiple classes, Anderson managed to at least hang on to his Pro 4 advantage with his first victory of the season in Nevada. His fourth podium in the first six rounds of the 2018 season, Anderson benefitted from fifth and sixth place finishes from top title rivals Kyle Leduc and Doug Mittag to extend his championship lead to 15 points.

ARA: David Higgins/Craig Drew

Subaru Rally Team USA’s dominance remains as thorough as ever, as Higgins/Drew returned to the top step of the podium at this year’s New England Forest Rally. Their third win in four races this season saw the fabled crew extend once again their championship lead over popular privateers Jeff Seehorn/Karen Jankowski. With three races remaining in the 2018 season, they’ve got this year’s title all but locked up, redemption for last year’s battle with teammates Travis Pastrana/Robbie Durant.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button