FeaturesWhat to Watch This Weekend

What to Watch This Weekend: April 14-15, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images by Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series (1); IndyCar/Chris Jones (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or online streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, April 14

4PM ET/1PM PT, FOX: IMSA Bubba Burger Sports Car Grand Prix of Long Beach

The 100-minute event for Daytona Prototype and GT Le Mans cars will see brothers Jordan and Ricky Taylor going for their fourth consecutive overall Long Beach wins, but for the first time, they’ll be racing for rival teams to do it. Oliver Gavin and Tommy Milner are the defending GTLM victors.

8:05PM ET/5:05PM PT, facebook.com/StadiumSuperTrucks: Stadium Super Trucks in Long Beach

Who doesn’t love the marriage of high-flying, off-road trucks and iconic street courses? SST has been a part of the Grand Prix of Long Beach weekend for a number of years now, and looks to boast a healthy entry list of competitive drivers—including 2017 winners Matt Brabham and Robby Gordon.

10PM ET, 7PM PT, FS1: Monster Energy Supercross from Minneapolis

Does anyone have what it takes to chase down Jason Anderson for this year’s 450SX title? Coming off a win last weekend in Seattle, Eli Tomac is just one of the top riders looking to chase him down. US Bank Stadium plays host to the 14th of 17 rounds overall this season, as well as the 250SX East’s first race by itself since St. Louis.

10PM ET/7PM PT, LucasOilRacing.tv: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series 4 Wheel Parts Duel in the Desert

The short course season finally kicks off at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park this weekend after a rainout in March in Glen Helen. For those Carl Renezeder fans who were going to miss their retired hero this season, tune in: he’ll be filling in this weekend for the injured Bryce Menzies.

Sunday, April 15

2:05AM ET/11:05PM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Chinese Grand Prix

While Sebastian Vettel won the first two races of the season, it’s still anyone’s guess as to how the F1 season will play out. Defending champion Lewis Hamilton defeated Vettel in China by over six seconds last year, and has to be especially hungry to finally take his first win of the 2018 season.

1PM ET/10AM PT, World-Challenge.com: Pirelli World Challenge Roar by the Shore

The GT and GTA classes headline PWC’s annual 50-minute Long Beach sprint, while GT4 cars have also been invited to participate. Alvaro Parente is the defending GT winner, but Scott Hargrove swept last month’s doubleheader in St. Petersburg. Motocross legend Jeff Ward will also make his GT4 debut.

4:30PM ET/1:30PM PT, NBCSN: IndyCar Toyota Grand Prix of Long Beach

The longest-running street race in America finally hosts its marquee event of the weekend. Will Robert Wickens finally make it to victory lane after two phenomenal performances to start the IndyCar season, or will his teammate James Hinchcliffe successfully defend last year’s Long Beach win?

7:05PM ET/4:05PM PT, facebook.com/StadiumSuperTrucks: Stadium Super Trucks in Long Beach

The Long Beach weekend wraps up with another shot of adrenaline from SST, as one lucky driver will aim to sweep the doubleheader. Sheldon Creed accomplished the feat in 2016, taking two of his 12 wins on the way to dominating the championship that year; will points leader Matt Brabham do the same in 2018?

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close