FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: April 21-22, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Image by IndyCar/Bret Kelley

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, April 21

3PM ET/12PM PT, FOX: Monster Energy Supercross at Gillette Stadium

After skipping New England last year, Supercross returns to the home of the New England Patriots for the 15th round of the 17-race 2018 season. Ken Roczen won’t return to defend his title from two years ago in 450SX, but Martin Davalos will look to claim his first 250SX East win since the last visit to Foxboro.

6:30PM ET/3:30PM PT, NBCSN: IndyCar Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama Qualifying

Two years ago, Simon Pagenaud set the pole record at Alabama with a speed of 124.089 miles per hour through the 2.38-mile road course. If he can replicate that run and start up front this weekend, it’ll go a long way toward helping him erase the sting of a first-corner incident that eliminated him in Long Beach.

Sunday, April 22

2PM ET/11AM PT, FS1: NHRA SpringNationals

Top Fuel points leader Steve Torrence earned this week’s Superstar Spotlight while coming off a victory two weeks ago in Las Vegas, and should be a favorite at this race as a native Texan. Elsewhere, Jack Beckman (Funny Car) and Bo Butner (Pro Stock) also enter the weekend as championship leaders.

3:30PM ET/12:30PM PT, NBCSN: IndyCar Honda Indy Grand Prix of Alabama

Last year, Barber Motorsports Park was the site of Josef Newgarden’s first win with Team Penske on the way to a championship season. Can he back it up to become the series’ first two-time winner of 2018—or will Andretti Autosport’s Alexander Rossi go back-to-back after a big win in Long Beach?

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close