FeaturesWhat to Watch This Weekend

What to Watch This Weekend: April 28-29, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Red Bull Content Pool

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, April 28

6:30AM ET/3:30AM PT, plus.wrc.com: WRC YPF Rally Argentina Day 3

WRC’s only South American stop continues with Stages 9 through 15. Saturday’s action includes the longest stage of the rally, starting in Cuchilla Nevada and running over 40 kilometers to Rio Pintos; it serves as both SS11 and SS15. Ott Tänak enters the day with the overall lead.

10:45AM ET/7:45AM PT, FormulaDrift.com/live: Formula Drift Round 2—Scorched (Top 32)
3:00PM ET/12:00PM PT, FormulaDrift.com/live: Formula Drift Round 2—Scorched (Top 16 through finals)

After kicking off in Long Beach earlier this month, the Formula Drift season resumes with a visit to Orlando Speedworld for the second of eight rounds this season. Fredric Aasbo’s new Toyota Corolla was best in show in the opener, but Forrest Wang and defending champion James Deane will challenge.

1:25PM ET/10:25AM PT, World-Challenge.com/streamvideo: Pirelli World Challenge GP of Virginia

Five classes take to the track for this weekend’s action: GT-X, GTS-X, TCR, TC, and TCA. Saturday’s action is the third round of the season for each of these five classes, which kicked off their respective seasons last month at Circuit of the Americas and return to racing at VIRginia International Raceway.

5:30PM ET/2:30PM PT, FOX: Monster Energy Supercross Salt Lake City

While Jason Anderson may have the 450SX title all but in the bag, expect more fireworks between second place Marvin Musquin and third place Eli Tomac at Rice-Eccles Stadium. Musquin made contact with Tomac to perform the winning pass last weekend, and Tomac was none too happy about it.

Sunday, April 29

6:30AM ET/3:30AM PT, plus.wrc.com: WRC YPF Rally Argentina Day 4

The fourth and final day of WRC action this weekend includes the Power Stage, a second pass at the infamous El Condor. Thierry Neuville will aim to become the event’s first back-to-back winner in half a decade, when the legendary Sebastien Loeb won his eighth Rally Argentina and third in a row in 2013.

8:10AM ET/5:10AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Azerbaijan Grand Prix

Whether or not you like Baku City Circuit, or even whether or not you like Formula 1, there’s one thing that all race fans can agree on: commercial-free coverage is awesome. ESPN has committed to doing just that for the remainder of 2018—a great move made greater by compelling racing so far this season.

10:20AM ET/7:20AM PT, World-Challenge.com/streamvideo: Pirelli World Challenge GP of Virginia

After running Round 3 on Saturday, the five PWC classes competing in Virginia this weekend return to the track for more on Sunday. Any driver who can take back-to-back wins, as Mark Wilkins did for Bryan Herta Autosport and Hyundai in TCR action from Austin last month, will be well on the way to the title.

6PM ET/3PM PT, FS1: NHRA NGK Spark Plugs Four-Wide Nationals

For the second time this month, the fastest cars and biggest stars of drag racing will go four-wide to determine winners in Charlotte. Funny Car driver J.R. Todd is on a hot streak with back-to-back wins in the past two races, taking one in the four-wide Las Vegas final and the other last weekend in Houston.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close