FeaturesWhat to Watch This Weekend

What to Watch This Weekend: August 17-19, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Jim Beaver (1); Formula Drift (2); Lucas Oil Midwest Short Course League (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Friday, August 17

All day long, instagram.com/general_tire: Best in the Desert Vegas to Reno

While you’re counting down to the weekend, and maybe not yet in front of a TV, make sure you’re following along with General Tire on social media for a behind-the-scenes look at Vegas to Reno from the eyes of Jim Beaver! We’ll have tons of content from race day on Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter.

Saturday, August 18

10AM ET/7AM PT, CBS Sports Network: Formula Drift Insider—Wall Township, NJ

Back-to-back episodes of the official TV show of Formula Drift kick off the weekend in action motorsports television, as we go back to the start of June and The Gauntlet at Wall Stadium Speedway. By now, you probably know that defending champion James Deane earned the win—watch how he got there.

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Geico Motorcycle Budds Creek National (450/250 Moto 1)
3PM ET/1PM PT, NBCSN: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Geico Motorcycle Budds Creek National (450/250 Moto 2)

The penultimate round of this year’s Pro Motocross championship takes the series to Budds Creek. With Eli Tomac and Aaron Plessinger well in control of the 450 and 250 points races, respectively, it’ll take some truly extraordinary circumstances to see anyone else take over the red number plate.

2PM ET/11AM PT, CBS: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series GEICO Off-Road Shootout

What’s the best part about watching action motorsports on TV in the summer? Lucas Oil Off Road action is on just about every weekend. What’s even better about this weekend? It’s on free, over-the-air CBS! All you need is an antenna to enjoy this week’s episode of LOORRS action from Lucas Oil Speedway.

Sunday, August 19

1PM ET/10AM PT, FS1: IMSA Michelin GT Challenge at VIR
2PM ET/11AM PT, FS2: IMSA Michelin GT Challenge at VIR

The second and final GT-only round of the 2018 IMSA season will jump TV networks partway through the action to make way for NHRA, but don’t be shy about chasing it around. While Ford Chip Ganassi Racing has won the past four GTLM rounds, the GTD class has seen a remarkable seven winners in eight races.

2PM ET/11AM PT, NBCSN: IndyCar ABC Supply 500

Alonsomania may be on the verge of hitting IndyCar next season, but we’ve still got a championship to decide in 2018! Scott Dixon remains a force of consistency and carries a 46-point lead into Pocono, but don’t count out second-place Alexander Rossi, fresh off a victory to cap off July at Mid-Ohio.

2PM ET/11AM PT, FS1: Lucas Oil NHRA Nationals

Brainerd International Raceway plays host to the latest round of NHRA action, as the Countdown to the Championship looms in the distance. With no more than five drivers locked into playoff position in any of the sport’s top four classes, this could be a big weekend for some of the sport’s biggest names.

2:30PM ET, MAVTV: ARCA Allen Crowe 100

It’s a rare weekend when ARCA has a Sunday show after NASCAR is already wrapped up, but it’ll be the case this weekend as the series visits the Illinois State Fairgrounds. Sheldon Creed remains the man to beat, holding a 165-point advantage over his MDM Motorsports teammate Zane Smith.

4:30PM ET/1:30PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series 4 Wheel Parts Duel in the Desert (Pro 4/Pro Buggy)

Who doesn’t love some good 900-horsepower, Pro 4 short course action? Lucas Oil Off Road fans can relive the season opener of that class, plus Pro Buggy, from Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park right after ARCA action from Illinois wraps up. And then…

6PM ET/3PM PT: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series GEICO Off-Road Shootout (Pro 4/Pro Buggy)

…jump all the way ahead to Round 5 of 12, as the series returns to Lucas Oil Speedway for the second year in a row. LOORRS’ easternmost round has quickly carved its niche into the series’ schedule, and its Pro 4 and Pro Buggy action caps off one of the busiest days in action motorsports TV in quite a while.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close