Features

What to Watch This Weekend: July 20-22, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Formula Drift (1); Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series (2); John Force Racing (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Friday, July 20

4PM ET/1PM PT, FormulaDrift.com/Live: Formula Drift AutoZone Throwdown Qualifying

Looking for something to get you through the final throes of a long work week? Look no further than Formula Drift qualifying from the series’ annual visit to the Pacific Northwest. Evergreen Speedway in Monroe, Washington has been a mainstay of the FD circuit from the 2006 season onward.

Saturday, July 21

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross La Crescent Wine & Spirits Spring Creek National (450/250 Moto 1)

After taking last weekend off, Pro Motocross returns to action in Minnesota. Defending 450 winner Marvin Musquin enters the event with a three-point advantage over Eli Tomac, while Alex Martin, whose family runs the track, will look to eat into Aaron Plessinger’s 35-point advantage in the 250 class.

3:45PM ET/12:45PM PT, FormulaDrift.com/Live: Formula Drift AutoZone Throwdown (Top 32)
8PM ET/5PM PT, FormulaDrift.com/Live: Formula Drift AutoZone Throwdown (Top 16 through Finals)

It seems like forever since we’ve last had Formula Drift action to look forward to, but everyone’s favorite sideways series returns to action this weekend at Evergreen Speedway. Defending race winner James Deane enters as points leader after winning the most recent round at Wall Speedway in New Jersey.

4PM ET/1PM PT, FS1: IMSA WeatherTech Sports Car Series Northeast Grand Prix

Two of the 12 rounds on the 2018 IMSA calendar won’t see the marquee Prototypes come to play, making for a throwback weekend of sorts with just GT cars; Lime Rock Park hosts the first this weekend. In their first six events of the year, the faster GT Le Mans cars have seen five different race winners.

10PM ET/7PM PT, LucasOilRacing.tv: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown

Round 6 of 12 in the 2018 LOORRS season sees the series return to Wild West Motorsports Park, just outside of Reno. RJ Anderson continues his pursuit of dual Pro 4 and Pro 2 championships, while Brock Heger looks to defend victories in both Pro Lite and Production 1000 UTV from last year.

Sunday, July 22

12AM ET/9PM PT (Saturday), NBCSN: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross La Crescent Wine & Spirits Spring Creek National (450/250 Moto 2)

The second motos from Spring Creek air on tape delay on early Sunday morning on the east coast, or Saturday evening on the west coast. 2016 winner Ken Roczen won his first moto of the season two weeks ago at RedBud, and will look for his first 450 overall win off the season in Minnesota.

8:30AM ET/5:30AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 German Grand Prix
8PM ET/5PM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 German Grand Prix (Replay)

F1’s biennial visit to Hockenheim returns to the calendar for 2018, as the series only visits Germany on even-numbered years since the Nürburgring’s change in ownership just a few years ago. The last time that these teams competed here, Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton won to extend his points lead.

3PM ET/12PM PT, FOX: Dodge NHRA Mile-High Nationals

The NHRA racing returns to the network airwaves on Sunday when FOX airs its first round of the 2018 season. Two years ago, the series saw its first network coverage ever at the same host venue, Bandimere Speedway. Antron Brown, Robert Hight, Drew Skillman, and Eddie Krawiec were last year’s winners.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close