FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: July 27-29, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via MDM Motorsports (1); Pro Motocross (2); Matt Fraver/IndyCar (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Friday, July 27

4PM ET/1PM PT, FS2: ARCA ModSpace 150

The ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards returns to action at Pocono Raceway, as the Tricky Triangle plays host to the 14th round of the season and the third Four Crown event of the year. Sheldon Creed leads the overall point standings, but Zane Smith leads the Four Crown mini-championship.

Saturday, July 28

1:30PM ET/10:30AM PT, NBCSN: Verizon IndyCar Series Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio Qualifying

The latest IndyCar round will see Pietro Fittipaldi’s return from injury, Conor Daly’s return to Harding Racing after giving the team its season-best finish at Toronto, and Meyer Shank Racing’s first IndyCar race at its home track. Qualifying will be our first chance this weekend to see them on TV.

4PM ET/1PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Motosport Washougal National (450/250 Moto 1)
11PM ET/8PM PT, NBCSN: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Motosport Washougal National (450/250 Moto 2)

Eli Tomac returned to the Pro Motocross points lead last weekend at Spring Creek with a strong bounce back performance, relegating Marvin Musquin back to second in the standings by seven points. They’ve won the last two events at Washougal, with Musquin taking last year’s overall victory.

8PM ET/5PM PT, FS1: NHRA Toyota Sonoma Nationals Qualifying

Tape-delayed coverage of NHRA qualifying from Sonoma Raceway will air Saturday evening, as the Mello Yello Drag Racing Series continues to close in on its Countdown to the Championship. It’s one of only four rounds remaining before the NHRA’s annual six-event playoff series kicks off.

Sunday, July 29

8:30AM ET/5:30AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix
8:30PM ET/5:30PM PT, ESPNEWS: Formula 1 Hungarian Grand Prix (Replay)

Three different winners in the past three races have kept the F1 season interesting as of late, but after Sebastien Vettel’s crash in Germany, Lewis Hamilton’s points lead is up to 17. Vettel will look to make up the deficit just days after former Ferrari chairman and CEO Sergio Marchionne tragically passed away.

3PM ET/12PM PT, CNBC: Verizon IndyCar Series Honda Indy 200 at Mid-Ohio

The ever-popular Mid-Ohio hosts its annual IndyCar round on Sunday, racing in the shadows of Honda’s American operations. However, the brand has only won once here in the past four years; points leader Scott Dixon will aim to put Honda back in the winner’s circle, while Josef Newgarden aims to defend.

4PM ET/1PM PT, FOX: Toyota Sonoma Nationals

Led by some of the sport’s most legendary names, NHRA returns to action in California this weekend with its annual visit to Sonoma. Greg Anderson (Pro Stock) and John Force (Funny Car), who have more than two dozen titles between them in various roles,  won last weekend in Colorado.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close