FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: July 7-8, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Down and Dirty Show (1); Joe Skibinski/IndyCar (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, July 7

8:55AM ET/5:55AM PT, ESPNEWS: Formula 1 British Grand Prix Qualifying

As it has exclusively since 1987, Silverstone plays host to the annual British Grand Prix, one of the marquee events on the Formula 1 calendar. Lewis Hamilton earned the pole here last year on the way to his fifth career grand slam (a win from the pole after leading every lap and setting the fastest lap).

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull RedBud National (450/250 Moto 1)
3:30PM ET/12:30PM PT, NBC: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull RedBud National (450 Moto 2)

Marvin Musquin finally dethroned Eli Tomac as the 450 class’ second overall winner of 2018 last weekend in Southwick, but he’ll have plenty more ground to make up as Pro Motocross kicks off the second half of its season at RedBud. (The second 250 Moto airs Sunday at 5PM ET/2PM PT on NBCSN.)

3:30PM ET/12:30PM PT, NBCSN: Verizon IndyCar Series Iowa Corn 300 Qualifying

The only course under a mile long on the IndyCar schedule, the Iowa bullring hosts this weekend’s action. Last year, Helio Castroneves scored his final win as a full-time IndyCar driver here, but it was Team Penske teammate Will Power who actually scored the pole in Saturday qualifying.

Sunday, July 8

9:05AM ET/6:05AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 British Grand Prix

Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton will have the opportunity to break a tie with countryman Jim Clark and the legendary Alain Prost at Silverstone on Sunday. A win would mark his record-setting sixth British Grand Prix victory, as well as putting him ahead of Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel in the championship standings.

1PM ET/10AM PT, FS1: NHRA New England Nationals

The second half of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series season gets underway as the sport makes its sixth annual trip to New Hampshire. Stay tuned for on-site weekend coverage at DownAndDirtyShow.com and on our Instagram account @DownAndDirtyShow!

2PM ET/11AM PT, NBCSN: Verizon IndyCar Series Iowa Corn 300

With just seven races left in the IndyCar season, Iowa Speedway will be an important venue for top drivers like Ryan Hunter-Reay and Alexander Rossi to make up ground on championship leader Scott Dixon. Josef Newgarden enters the event as the series’ most recent winner (Road America).

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close