FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: June 2-3, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Matt Fraver/IndyCar (1); Larry Chen/Formula Drift (2); Stadium Super Trucks (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, June 2

6:30AM ET/3:30AM PT, facebook.com/OfficialScoreInternational: 50th Baja 500 (Motorcycles/Quads)
11AM ET/8AM PT, facebook.com/OfficialScoreInternational: 50th Baja 500 (Trucks/Cars/UTVs)

The Golden Jubilee edition of one of off-road’s most iconic races will see Andy McMillin aim to go back-to-back in the premier Trophy Truck class, while Justin Morgan looks to win for the second year in a row in Pro Moto Unlimited, this time as rider of record. Dakar legend Cyril Despres also makes his TT debut.

12:30PM ET/9:30AM PT, FS2: IMSA Chevrolet Sports Car Classic

America’s premier sports car series returns to action in Detroit, a month after its most recent round at Mid-Ohio. That race saw Team Penske’s first 1-2 since returning to sports car action, in a race sponsored by its manufacturer Acura, no less. At 100 minutes, this is tied for the shortest IMSA race of 2018.

12:45PM ET/9:45AM PT, FormulaDrift.com/live: Formula Drift Round 4—The Gauntlet (Top 32)
4PM ET/1PM PT, FormulaDrift.com/live: Formula Drift Round 4—The Gauntlet (Top 16 through finals)

The halfway point of the 2018 Formula Drift season sees drivers return to Wall Stadium Speedway for one of the series’ mainstay events. Fredric Aasbo, Chris Forsberg, and Kristaps Bluss have all won to kick off the 2018 championship; will Odi Bakchis defend last year’s win and make it four winners in four races?

3:30PM ET/12:30PM PT, ABC: Verizon IndyCar Series Chevrolet Dual in Detroit (Race 1)

The only remaining doubleheader on the IndyCar schedule kicks off on Saturday with the first round of action. Graham Rahal became the first driver to sweep this event last season, but street course superstar Will Power of Team Penske comes into the weekend riding the momentum of an Indianapolis 500 victory.

4PM ET/1PM PT, NBCSN: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross True Value Thunder Valley National

Round 3 of Lucas Oil Pro Motocross sees the series head to Colorado for its 14th annual visit to Thunder Valley. Defending winner Blake Baggett will look to make up for a rough go of it in Glen Helen, but after taking the first two overall wins, will Eli Tomac make it a hat trick with his first career victory here?

Sunday, June 3

2:05PM ET/11:05AM PT, facebook.com/StadiumSuperTrucks: Stadium Super Trucks in Detroit

The second leg of SST action live from Belle Isle will see somebody look to replicate Sheldon Creed’s weekend sweep from 2017. SST has seen many winners in 2018, but Matthew Brabham’s consistency has given him a large points lead. Saturday’s round also streams on Facebook at 10:05AM ET.

3:30PM ET/12:30PM PT, ABC: Verizon IndyCar Series Chevrolet Dual in Detroit (Race 2)

Can anybody replicate Graham Rahal’s sweep of the Detroit doubleheader from last year? We’ll get to find out on Sunday, as we also say farewell to ABC’s 54-year relationship with IndyCar. NBC will inherit full coverage of the series next season, with the sport’s marquee races moving to the Peacock in 2019.

5:30PM ET/2:30PM PT, FS1: JEGS Route 66 NHRA Nationals

After a week off from NHRA action, the series returns to Route 66 Raceway a month earlier than it did in 2017 after swapping dates with New England Dragway. Steve Torrence (Top Fuel), Ron Capps (Funny Car), Drew Skillman (Pro Stock), and LE Tonglet (Pro Stock Motorcycle) were last year’s winners.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button