FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: June 23-24, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series (1); Chris Owens/IndyCar (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, June 23

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Tennessee National
3PM ET/12PM PT, NBCSN: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Tennessee National

Marvin Musquin snapped Eli Tomac’s six-moto winning streak in the 450 class last week, but couldn’t end his four-event overall winning streak at High Point. 2017 series champion Tomac enters Tennessee as the defending race winner, as will fellow points leader Aaron Plessinger in the 250 class.

3PM ET/12PM PT, LucasOilRacing.TV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series GEICO Off-Road Shootout presented by General Tire

LOORRS returns to Lucas Oil Speedway in Wheatland, MO for the second straight year, this time with all nine of its current classes in tow instead of the six that ran last year. RJ Anderson looks to build off a win and four podiums between Pro 4 and Pro 2 last month in Mexico as he chases dual championships.

6:30PM ET/3:30PM PT, NBCSN: Verizon IndyCar Series Kohler Grand Prix Qualifying

After a well-deserved weekend off for Father’s Day, IndyCar is back in action at the ever-popular Road America for the 10th of 17 rounds on this year’s schedule. Scott Dixon enters the event as the points leader, most recent winner two weeks ago at Texas, and defending Road America race winner.

Sunday, June 24

10AM ET/7AM PT, live.matchsports.com: 96th Broadmoor Pikes Peak International Hill Climb

The Race to the Clouds remains one of the most compelling individual events on the annual motorsport calendar. This year, Romain Dumas sets his sights on the EV record and overall victory with Volkswagen Motorsport, while Travis Pastrana headlines the spec Porsche Cayman GT4 Clubsport Hill Climb Trophy.

12:30PM ET/9:30AM PT, NBCSN: Verizon IndyCar Series Kohler Grand Prix

The second half of the IndyCar season gets going with the third visit to Road America since it returned to the series schedule in 2016. In the first two seasons, no driver has taken multiple podiums, with Dixon and Will Power the two winners. Will one of them find a way to repeat in 2018?

3PM ET/12PM PT, LucasOilRacing.TV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series GEICO Off-Road Shootout presented by General Tire

This weekend’s LOORRS doubleheader, the series’ easternmost round of the 2018 season, resumes in Missouri on Sunday. 2017 winners Jeremy McGrath and Brian Deegan will look to right the ship and repeat in the Pro 2 class; they entered the weekend fourth and seventh in the standings, respectively.

6:30PM ET/3:30PM PT, FS1: Summit Racing Equipment NHRA Nationals

Summit Racing Equipment Motorsports Park in Ohio hosts the halfway round of the NHRA Mello Yello Series schedule this weekend. Steve Torrence (Top Fuel), Jack Beckman (Funny Car), Bo Butner (Pro Stock), and LE Tonglet (Pro Stock Motorcycle) enter the event as its four defending champions.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button