FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: June 30-July 1, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Lucas Oil Pro Motocross (1); IMSA (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, June 30

8:55AM ET/5:55AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Austrian Grand Prix Qualifying

The second of three consecutive weeks of Formula 1 action sees the series visit the Red Bull Ring in Spielberg, Austria. The track sponsor has put a car on the podium in each of the past four races, but it was Mercedes’ Valtteri Bottas who swept qualifying and the race here last year.

11:30AM ET/8:30AM PT, FS1: NHRA Pro Mod Series Virginia NHRA Nationals
12PM ET/12PM PT, FS1: NHRA Sportsman Series JEGS Route 66 NHRA Nationals

The cars and stars of the NHRA may be off this weekend, but drag racing fans can catch Pro Mod and Sportsman action from earlier in the season in between all of the NASCAR coverage on Saturday. Pro Mod action airs from Virginia Motorsports Park, and the Sportsman show comes from Route 66 Raceway.

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Southwick National
8PM ET/5PM PT, NBCSN: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Southwick National

The halfway point of the Pro Motocross season will see Eli Tomac pursue his sixth straight overall victory of the 450 season at The Wick 338. He’s got a good chance at it: since returning to the schedule in 2016, Tomac has swept both Southwick National victories. Aaron Plessinger leads the 250 points.

Sunday, July 1

9:05AM ET/6:05AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Austrian Grand Prix

A pair of close championship races between Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton and Ferrari’s Sebastien Vettel will shape this weekend’s Austrian Grand Prix. Hamilton holds a 14-point advantage on Vettel in the driver’s standings, while Mercedes leads Ferrari by 23 in the constructor’s championship.

9:30AM ET/6:30AM PT, FS1: IMSA Sahlen’s Six Hours of the Glen

The halfway point of the WeatherTech SportsCar Championship, Watkins Glen hosts the third round of the Patron North American Endurance Cup this weekend. Eric Curran and Felipe Nasr lead the NAEC with 27 points, and will aim to break a tie for the overall lead with Filipe Albuquerque and João Barbosa. 

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series 4 Wheel Parts Duel in the Desert
7PM ET/4PM PT, CBS Sports: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Rockstar Energy Battle South of the Border

Catch up on the first two rounds of the LOORRS season on Sunday with racing all day and all night. MAVTV shows the Pro Lite and Turbo UTV season openers from Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, and CBSSN shows all four Pro classes from Estero Beach in the evening before an overnight marathon.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button