FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: June 9-10, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Joe Skibinski/IndyCar (1); Clay Millican (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, June 9

2AM ET/11PM PT (Friday), plus.wrc.com: WRC Rally Italia Sardegna Day 3

Make sure you’ve got plenty of caffeine on hand if you’re planning on watching the middle stages of WRC’s return to action this weekend. The event runs bright and early in Italy, which means staying up all night if you’re stateside and intend on catching everything live. Seven stages comprise Saturday’s action.

6:15PM ET/3:15PM PT, facebook.com/StadiumSuperTrucks: Stadium Super Trucks No Limits Offroad Rumble
~11:15PM ET/8:15PM PT, facebook.com/StadiumSuperTrucks: Stadium Super Trucks No Limits Offroad Rumble

The only back-to-back event weekends on the 2018 SST calendar wrap up with the only single-day doubleheader of the season. Stay tuned to the SST page for updates on when the second event will be run, as it’s scheduled to go green 30 minutes after the conclusion of the IndyCar race.

8PM ET/5PM PT, NBCSN: Verizon IndyCar Series DXC Technology 600

Technically the first race of the all-NBC era of IndyCar coverage, Texas Motor Speedway wraps up a hectic five-weekend span of races and Indianapolis 500 build-up. Two-time TMS winner Will Power enters the event as the championship leader after taking four podiums in the past six races.

Sunday, June 10

1:45AM ET/10:45PM PT (Saturday), plus.wrc.com: WRC Rally Italia Sardegna Day 4

The halfway round of the 2018 WRC season wraps up with the final four stages of 20 in Italy, concluding with the Power Stage from Sassari to Argentiera. Can Ott Tänak win this event for the second year in a row, now in a Toyota? And can his teammate Esapekka Lappi win the Power Stage as he did in 2017?

1:30PM ET/10:30AM PT, ABC: Formula 1 Grand Prix Heineken du Canada

Finally, another Formula 1 race airing live at a reasonable hour for us Americans! Circuit Gilles Villeneuve has been a mainstay of the F1 schedule since 1982, save for 1987 and 2009. Lewis Hamilton’s very first F1 victory came in Montreal, and he’s won the past three rounds here for a total of six overall.

6PM ET/3PM PT, FS1: NHRA Virginia Nationals

The 10th round of the 2018 NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series sees racers return to Virginia Motorsports Park for the first time since the 2009 season. The event was added to the schedule in January to replace the cancelled round in Englishtown, NJ that would’ve taken place this weekend.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button