FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: May 12-13, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Walter Kuhn/IndyCar (1); Red Bull Content Pool (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, May 12

8:55AM ET/5:55AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix Qualifying

Sure, it’s a qualifying session, but let’s be real: if you’re anything like the rest of us, you’re just happy to have racing on your TV set this early in the morning. F1 returns to action this weekend at Circuit de Barcelona-Catalunya as Lewis Hamilton pursues his second win in a row, both in 2018 and in Spain.

 

3:30PM ET/12:30PM PT, ABC: IndyCar Grand Prix

You’d be forgiven for overlooking this as just another IndyCar race based on its name, but this is the series’ annual road course round from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway that now kicks off Month of May festivities. Simon Pagenaud and Will Power have alternated to take all four victories in this event.

4:30PM ET/1:30PM PT, FormulaDrift.com/live: Formula Drift Round 3—Road to the Championship (Top 32)
8:30PM ET/5:30PM PT, FormulaDrift.com/live: Formula Drift Round 3—Road to the Championship (Top 16 through finals)

Last year’s Atlanta final was all Irish, as eventual 2017 FD champion James Deane defeated Dean Kearney. This year, Deane enters Atlanta second in points to Fredric Aasbo, but is still pursuing his first race victory. Aasbo won in Long Beach, while Chris Forsberg snapped a long win drought in Orlando.

Sunday, May 13

8AM ET/5AM PT, CBSSN: Stadium Super Trucks from Adelaide*

There’s all sorts of racing on CBS Sports Network on Sunday, from first-run Pirelli World Challenge telecasts from VIRginia International Raceway to MXGP from Latvia. But if you woke up a bit too early for F1 and your coffee isn’t quite kicking in, why not wake up with SST’s March visit to Adelaide?

9:05AM ET/6:05AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Spanish Grand Prix

Those of you who might be low on Formula 1 in general would be wise to give it a chance this year. We’ve had winners from three different teams in the first four races, plenty of teammate drama, and some ridiculously impressive drives from Fernando Alonso just to salvage a handful of points.

8PM ET/5PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Late Model Dirt Series Super Bowl of Racing*

It doesn’t matter that this race was run in February—any event called the “Super Bowl of Racing” promises to be a good time. Golden Isles Speedway opens the 2018 LOLMDS season, and the 4/10 mile clay speedway is a perfect introductory venue to those of you who aren’t familiar with the sport.

*tape delayed broadcast

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close