FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: May 19-20, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Chris Owens/IndyCar (1); Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, May 19

4PM ET/1PM PT, ABC: 102nd Indianapolis 500 Qualifying

Unlike past years, Bump Day actually takes place before Pole Day at Indianapolis this year. The new qualifying format sees the field of 33 set on the first day of time trials, with the two unlucky drivers that can’t post quick enough speeds to make the grid sent home before Sunday’s sessions.

4PM ET/1PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull Hangtown Motocross Classic Moto 1
8:30PM ET/5:30PM PT, NBCSN: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull Hangtown Motocross Classic Moto 2

The 2018 Supercross season is in the books, but the world’s top riders take it outside for 12 rounds of Pro Motocross starting this weekend in Sacramento. Defending 450 champion Eli Tomac piled on the stadium wins this year, and will be the likely rider to beat; meanwhile, Ken Roczen also returns from injury.

5PM ET/2PM PT, Lucas Oil Racing TV: LOORRS 4th Annual Rockstar Energy Battle South of the Border

Mexico has become a major part of the Lucas Oil Off Road schedule over the past four years, and Estero Beach will host 2018’s first doubleheader this weekend. Mexico’s own Rodrigo Ampudia will be the local favorite in the Pro 2 class, and has posted solid finishes in his home country in previous seasons.

Sunday, May 20

1PM ET/10AM PT, FS1: Menards NHRA Heartland Nationals presented by Minties Qualifying
2PM ET/11AM PT, FS1: Menards NHRA Heartland Nationals presented by Minties Finals

Four straight hours of NHRA action make up most of the afternoon on FS1, as the tape delayed qualifying show leads immediately into the elimination rounds. Antron Brown, Ron Capps, and Tanner Gray were last year’s winners at Topeka in Top Fuel, Funny Car, and Pro Stock, respectively.

2PM ET/11AM PT, CBS: LOORRS 4 Wheel Parts Duel in the Desert*

It’s a great weekend to be a short course fan: not only can you watch this weekend’s Mexican rounds on Lucas Oil Racing TV, but the network telecast schedule also includes the season opener from Wild Horse Pass on Sunday. It’s the perfect lead-in to the conclusion of the live doubleheader later on Sunday.

4PM ET/1PM PT, ABC: 102nd Indianapolis 500 Qualifying

Sunday may not see the exact field of 33 determined as in seasons past, but it will determine the starting order of the drivers who made Saturday’s cut. Rows 4 and back will qualify first, while the first nine drivers on the grid will be set at the end of the day, and determined on the ABC show.

5PM ET/2PM PT, Lucas Oil Racing TV: LOORRS 4th Annual Rockstar Energy Battle South of the Border

The second day of Lucas Oil Off Road action in Mexico will see Saturday’s winners try to go back-to-back, and anyone who can do so will almost definitely take (or retain) their class points lead. Watch out for Kyle LeDuc, who entered the weekend with five of the six Pro 4 wins here under his belt.

*tape delayed broadcast

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button