FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: May 26-27, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Red Bull Content Pool (1); Joe Skibinski/IndyCar (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, May 26

6AM ET/3AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix Practice
9AM ET/6AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix Qualifying

Perhaps the two most important final practice and qualifying sessions of the entire 2018 Formula 1 season, the field will go for grid position on the streets of Monte Carlo. If the first two practice sessions on Friday are anything to go by, Daniel Ricciardo and Max Verstappen may sweep Row 1 for Red Bull.

3PM ET/12PM PT, NBCSN: American Flat Track Law Tigers Arizona Mile*

Hosted at Turf Paradise in Phoenix, the Arizona Mile represents the fifth round of the 2018 AFT season and the longest round of the season so far. Reigning champion Jared Mees entered the event coming off of three wins in his first four starts, including a season-opening victory in Daytona.

4PM ET/1PM PT, NBCSN: Indianapolis 500 Festival Parade

Sure, it’s not the race itself, but there’s a reason why the Indianapolis 500 is called the “Greatest Spectacle in Racing.” The annual 500 Festival Parade features dozens of floats, top figures in the community, and of course, all 33 starters for the race. The event has been held every year since 1957.

4PM ET/1PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Giant RV Glen Helen National
6PM ET/3PM PT, NBCSN: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Giant RV Glen Helen National

The second round of the Pro Motocross season sees riders move on to Glen Helen. Defending 450 champion Eli Tomac swept both motos last week at Hangtown to take an immediate championship lead, and Zach Osborne did the same in 250 as he prepares for a move to the larger bikes in 2019.

Sunday, May 27

9AM ET/6AM PT, ESPN: Formula 1 Monaco Grand Prix

A narrow relic of racing seasons past, Monaco remains the most prestigious round on the Formula 1 schedule for sheer spectacle alone. Pole position is more important here than any other race, as passing is nearly impossible—so any surprise winner will likely come as a result of crashes or strong pit strategy.

11AM ET/8AM PT, ABC: 102nd Indianapolis 500

Hometown hero Ed Carpenter will lead the field of 33 to the start for the third time in his career as the crown jewel of the Verizon IndyCar Series schedule goes green. Takuma Sato gave Andretti Autosport its third Indy win in four years last year; can he repeat with Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing?

*tape delayed broadcast

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button