FeaturesWhat to Watch This Weekend

What to Watch This Weekend: May 5-6, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Red Bull Content Pool

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, May 5

12:50AM ET/9:50PM PT (Friday), facebook.com/StadiumSuperTrucks: Stadium Super Trucks in Perth

Barbagallo Raceway plays host to Stadium Super Trucks for the second year in a row this weekend. Sheldon Creed and Robby Gordon were the two winners here last season, but points leader Matthew Brabham has been the dominant force in the series so far in 2018, boasting a 35-point advantage.

12:30PM ET/9:30AM PT, Velocity: FIA World Endurance Championship Total 6 Hours of Spa-Francorchamps

If you can’t wait for IMSA action from Mid-Ohio on Sunday, consider waking up bright and early (7:30AM ET) to stream FIA WEC action on the series’ site, or just tune into Velocity before making lunch. Fernando Alonso is part of the three-man Toyota GAZOO Racing team that starts on the pole in Spa.

10PM ET/7PM PT, FOX: Monster Energy Supercross Las Vegas

For the first time all season, Jason Anderson suffered a bout of bad luck last week in Salt Lake City, opening the door to the 450SX title ever so slightly for Marvin Musquin. That sets up what was already due to be an exciting Supercross season finale in Las Vegas, with the championship still on the line.

Sunday, May 6

12:20AM ET/9:20PM PT (Saturday), facebook.com/StadiumSuperTrucks: Stadium Super Trucks in Perth

Round 8 of the 2018 Stadium Super Trucks season will see Saturday’s race winner go for a weekend sweep, something we haven’t seen yet this year. It’s Americans versus Australians for the checkered flag once again—who will have what it takes to top the 12-truck field at Barbagallo?

1PM ET/10AM PT, FS2: IMSA Acura Sports Car Challenge of Mid-Ohio

IMSA returns to a full field this weekend as the Prototype, GT Le Mans, and GT Daytona cars head to Mid-Ohio Raceway for the first time since it hosted an American Le Mans Series round in 2012. The 2:40 timed race will see 34 total entries; Filipe Albuquerque and Joao Barbosa lead the Prototype points.

6PM ET/3PM PT, FS1: NHRA Southern Nationals powered by Mello Yello

Top Fuel, Pro Stock, and Funny Car teams wrap up a three-weekend swing of NHRA action at Atlanta Dragway, while Pro Stock Motorcycle racers take part in their third race of the 2018 season. Steve Torrence (TF), Bo Butner (PS), Ron Capps (FC), and LE Tonglet (PSM) are the defending winners.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close