FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: October 12-14, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Acura (1); Larry Chen/Formula Drift (2); John Force Racing (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Friday, Saturday, and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Friday, October 12

5AM ET/2AM PT, MAVTV: Best in the Desert BlueWater Resort and Casino Parker 425

The 2018 Best in the Desert season kicked off with a pair of events in Parker, Arizona, including the iconic Parker 425 for cars, trucks, and UTVs. If you’re up late because you’ve been following tonight’s UTV race from Laughlin, wind down with the highlights from this winter’s race.

Saturday, October 13

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull RedBud National (450/250 Moto 1)
3PM ET/12PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull RedBud National (450/250 Moto 2)

If you couldn’t get enough of “REEEEEEEEDBUUUUUUUUD!” during last weekend’s Motocross of Nations, never fear: the Pro Motocross action from the iconic Michigan track re-airs this weekend on MAVTV. An invigorated Marvin Musquin sets his sights on Eli Tomac’s championship lead.

4:45PM ET/1:45PM PT, FormulaD.com/live: Formula Drift Title Fight (Top 32)
8:30PM ET/5:30PM PT, FormulaD.com/live: Formula Drift Title Fight (Halftime Show, Top 16 and beyond)

James Deane looks to hold on for his second straight Formula Drift title, while Fredric Aasbo looks to take him down, as the series returns to Irwindale Speedway. Defending event winner Piotr Wiecek, Deane’s teammate on the Worthouse Drift Team, also has a slim mathematical shot at the title.

9:30PM ET/6:30PM PT, FS2: Monster Energy Cup

It’s a bummer that the biggest-money race of the Monster Energy Supercross season is only on FS2, but those who tune in will be rewarded with an intense night of action. Sam Boyd Stadium in Las Vegas features one of the most challenging and unique Supercross course layouts in recent memory.

10PM ET/7PM PT, MAVTV: ARCA Kentuckiana Ford Dealers ARCA Fall Classic

Salem Speedway hosts two events during the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards season, including last month’s Kentuckiana Ford Dealers ARCA Fall Classic. The 18th of 20 rounds on the 2018 calendar features many of the sport’s top stars doing battle on their General Tires.

Sunday, October 14

10:30AM ET/7:30AM PT, FS1: Motul Petit Le Mans
12PM ET/9AM PT, FS2: Motul Petit Le Mans

The points-paying segment of the 2018 WeatherTech SportsCar Championship wraps up with its classic season-ending visit to Road Atlanta. The Petit Le Mans serves as the traditional crowning of champions in American sports car racing, and will see Tequila Patron ESM look to defend last year’s overall win.

2PM ET/11AM PT, FS1: NHRA Carolina Nationals

How do you take an already intense Countdown to the Championship and jack the intensity up to 11? Send it back to Z-Max Dragway in Charlotte! Top Fuel points leader Steve Torrence won here in the four-wide event in April, but Charlotte produced first-time 2018 winners in all three other classes in the spring.

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series 4 Wheel Parts Duel in the Desert (Production 1000 UTV/Pro 2 Round 1)

Next weekend’s Lucas Oil Off Road season finale takes place at Wild Horse Pass Motorsports Park, so to get ready for the championship event, go back to the start of the season from Arizona in April with the hotly contested Production UTV and Pro 2 truck classes.

8:30PM ET/5:30PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series General Tire Utah Off-Road Nationals (Production 1000 UTV Round 7/Turbo UTV Round 8)

Tonight’s LOORRS show on CBSSN features both legs of the series’ doubleheader from Utah Motorsports Campus, and a double dose of UTV action. Check out the first race for the production field, paired with the second leg of action for the turbo racers.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button