FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: October 5-7, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via MXGP (1); Scuderia Ferrari (2); Subaru Rally Team USA (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Friday, October 5

2AM ET/11AM PT (Thursday), MAVTV: Best in the Desert Pahrump Nugget 250 (2017)

It may be on at odd hours, but MAVTV has been showing plenty of last year’s Best in the Desert action lately. This weekend’s show features the season-ending point-to-point action from Pahrump. It re-airs at 5AM ET/2AM PT on both Friday and Sunday morning.

Saturday, October 6

2AM ET/11PM PT (Friday), ESPN2: Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix Qualifying

Hello, DVR special! This one might be a little late for those of you on the East Coast, but it’ll nonetheless be a nice way to end your Friday night if you’re out west. Suzuka is yet another track that has been owned by Mercedes as of late; they’ve won each of the past four Japanese GPs.

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Kubota Southwick National (450/250 Moto 1)
3PM ET/12PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Kubota Southwick National (450/250 Moto 2)

The halfway point of the 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season is the focus of today’s re-air on MAVTV, as The Wick 338 hosts the series. As Eli Tomac begins to look vulnerable in the 450 class for the first time, a shaken-up 250 class is wide open to just about any rider to grab the victory.

10PM ET/7PM PT, MAVTV: ARCA Fans With Benefits 150

We jump back to July on the ARCA schedule in this week’s MAVTV showing, as Iowa Speedway’s July round of the championship makes it to air tonight. MDM Motorsports’ Sheldon Creed aims to take the win after scoring his third consecutive pole. The race re-airs at 1AM ET/10PM PT if you miss it.

Sunday, October 7

1:05AM ET/10:05PM PT (Saturday), ESPN2: Formula 1 Japanese Grand Prix

Only five rounds remain in the 2018 Formula 1 World Championship, and Sebastian Vettel’s going to need to gain 10 points in each of them to equal Lewis Hamilton in the standings. The good news for Vettel: he’s a four-time winner at Suzuka, winning this race in 2009, 2010, 2012, and 2013.

12PM ET/9AM PT, CBSSN: FIA World Rallycross of the United States

Last weekend’s World RX debut at Circuit of the Americas finally airs this afternoon, as Europe’s top rallycross stars head to the Lone Star State with Johan Kristoffersson looking to earn his second straight championship. The Swede entered the event with six straight victories, and eight wins in 2018.

1PM ET/10AM PT, CBSSN: Motocross of Nations (MXGP and MX2 race)
2:30PM ET/11:30AM PT, CBSSN: Motocross of Nations (MX2 and Open race)
4PM ET/1PM PT, CBSSN: Motocross of Nations (MXGP and Open race)

After a quiet September, two-wheel action picks back up for the next two weekends starting with this year’s Motocross of Nations at RedBud. Team USA will look to recover from a disappointing ninth place in 2017, while Team France will go for its fifth win in a row despite leaving Marvin Musquin off the team.

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown (Turbo UTV/Pro Lite Round 6)

Who else digs Wild West Motorsports Park? A staple of the Lucas Oil Off Road schedule from the beginning of the series, sparks always fly in the Sparks, Nevada-based track. As always, if you miss the show, it’s re-aired three hours later, at 5PM ET/2PM PT.

5PM ET/2PM PT, CBSSN: Americas Rallycross at Circuit of the Americas

The first season of ARX concluded as part of World RX’s American weekend, just as most of its schedule had come as a support act to other World RX events. Scott Speed goes for his fourth straight rallycross title, dating back to the Red Bull GRC era, while Conner Martell aims for a perfect season in ARX2.

8:30PM ET/5:30PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series General Tire Utah Off-Road Nationals (Pro Lite/Pro 2 Round 7)

Last weekend’s LOORRS action on the CBS Sports Network featured the Pro 4 and Pro Buggy classes; this weekend, it’s on to Pro 2 and Pro Lite! The first leg of the Utah Motorsports Campus doubleheader sees two of the series’ most competitive classes shoot for a strong start to 2018’s second half.

1AM ET (Monday)/10PM PT, CBSSN: Motocross of Nations/Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Marathon

Five solid hours of racing should give all you night owls plenty to look forward to on Sunday night. Motocross of Nations re-airs starting at 1AM ET/10AM PT, and after that, it’s two hours of LOORRS: Turbo UTV and Pro Lite from Nevada first, and Pro Lite and Pro 2 from Utah airing after that.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close