FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: September 1-3, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Lucas Oil Midwest Short Course League (1); Chris Owens/IndyCar (2); John Force Racing (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, September 1

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull Hangtown Motocross Classic (450/250 Moto 1)
3PM ET/12PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull Hangtown Motocross Classic (450/250 Moto 2)

Missing the Pro Motocross season already? Stew over the number of changes we’ve already learned about this offseason (Aaron Plessinger’s move up with Yamaha and Joey Savatgy’s Kawasaki deal) and wonder about moves still to come (where will Cooper Webb land?) by rewatching the 2018 opener.

1:50PM ET/10:50AM PT, LucasOilRacing.tv: Lucas Oil Midwest Short Course League 49th World Championship Off Road Races

The inaugural Midwest Short Course League season wraps up by crowning champions in 15 different classes from Crandon International Raceway on Saturday. It’ll be a showdown at the Big House as Johnny Greaves, Mike Vanden Heuvel, and Cory Winner attempt to protect the Pro truck points leads.

Sunday, September 2

8:30AM ET/5:30AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Italian Grand Prix

The historic Autodromo Nazionale Monza plays host to one of only two Grands Prix to appear on every Formula 1 calendar from the series’ inception in 1950. Sebastian Vettel has won here twice, but not since joining Ferrari; points leader Lewis Hamilton, meanwhile, has won three of the last four rounds.

11AM ET/8AM PT, CBSSN: Formula Drift Insider—Evergreen Speedway

One of Formula Drift’s longest tenured venues, Washington’s Evergreen Speedway is one of the sport’s most popular hosts. This year’s Throwdown is the subject of the latest two episodes of Formula Drift Insider, which air back-to-back; they’ll re-air at 2PM ET/11AM PT on Labor Day as well.

11:30AM ET/8:30AM PT, LucasOilRacing.tv: Crandon World Cup/Amsoil Cup

The short course season in the midwest comes to a thrilling conclusion with Sunday’s Crandon World Cup, the annual, non-denominational race that brings together all of America’s best racers. The event ends with the Amsoil Cup, the big money, east versus west, Pro 4 versus Pro 2 shootout.

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series GEICO Off Road Shootout (Production 1000 UTV/Turbo UTV Round 4-5)

Good news if you don’t have Lucas Oil Racing TV: the full LOORRS UTV doubleheader from Lucas Oil Speedway kicks off nine full hours of TV coverage of the series’ various classes on Sunday. Both UTV classes have produced plenty of exciting action in 2018, and the muddy Missouri event is no exception.

2:30PM ET/11:30AM PT, NBCSN: IndyCar Grand Prix of Portland

The penultimate round of the Verizon IndyCar Series season sees the sport return to Portland for the first time since 2007. Only a handful of series veterans—such as Will Power, Simon Pagenaud, Sebastien Bourdais, and Scott Dixon, all the way back in 2002—have competed at the track.

3PM ET/12PM PT, CBS: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown

Don’t have a streaming service? Can’t even spring for cable? An antenna is all it takes to watch this LOORRS broadcast from Wild West Motorsports Park. Be sure not to miss it, though—the next scheduled free-to-air LOORRS show doesn’t air until Saturday, September 29!

6PM ET/3PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown (Pro 4/Pro Buggy Round 6)

A longtime presence on the LOORRS calendar, Wild West Motorsports Park has hosted as many as four rounds in a single season (2014). This year, it only played host to one, but that didn’t stop the Pro 4 and Pro Buggy classes from putting on a thrilling show in the dusk in their only Nevada visit of the season.

12AM ET/9PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Marathon

Up late and need something to watch? How about six straight hours of LOORRS competition? Kicking off with three rounds of Pro 2 and Pro Lite action from Mexico and Missouri, and followed up by Pro 4 and Pro Buggy racing from Missouri and Nevada, it’s quite the way to spend an all-nighter!

Monday, September 3

11AM ET/8AM PT, FS1: NHRA Chevrolet Performance US Nationals
1PM ET/10AM PT, FOX: NHRA Chevrolet Performance US Nationals

The Countdown to the Championship fields are finally set on Labor Day at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis with one of the NHRA’s biggest events of the season. With 12 slots up for grabs in the four major national classes, expect a high-tension weekend as motivated outsiders try to force their way in.

3PM ET/12PM PT, MAVTV: ARCA General Tire Grabber 100

The second and final dirt oval of the ARCA Racing Series by Menards season sees the series descend upon the DuQuoin State Fair on Labor Day. Christian Eckes won the first dirt round of the year at Springfield, and will look to sweep the loose surface leg of the season for Venturini Motorsports.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button