Features

What to Watch This Weekend: September 14-16, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Red Bull Content Pool (1); Formula Drift (2); Joe Skibinski/IndyCar (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Friday, September 14

12AM ET/9PM PT (Thursday), wrcplus.com: WRC Rally Turkey Day 2

WRC’s return to Turkey for the first time since 2010 kicks off on Thursday with a super special stage, but the event really gets going on Friday morning with six stages for a total of nearly 145 kilometers. The event will see Toyota Gazoo Racing WRT’s Ott Tänak and Martin Järveoja go for their third win in a row.

Saturday, September 15

12AM ET/9PM PT (Friday), wrcplus.com: WRC Rally Turkey Day 3

Another six stages, albeit with a slightly shorter amount of total stage time, mark the third day of Rally Turkey. Interestingly, on the way to his win in Germany last month, Toyota’s Ott Tänak and Martin Järveoja didn’t win a single stage on the third or fourth day of the rally, coasting after winning six of the first seven.

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross True Value Thunder Valley National (450/250 Moto 1)
3PM ET/12PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross True Value Thunder Valley National (450/250 Moto 2)

If you’re a NASCAR fan, hearing “Thunder Valley” will make you think Bristol Motor Speedway, but that’s not the case for the riders of Pro Motocross. They headed out to Lakewood, Colorado for this, the third event of the 2018 season, with Eli Tomac still in the midst of his epic 450 winning streak.

1:45PM ET/10:45AM PT, formuladrift.com/live: Formula Drift Showdown (Top 32)
5:30PM ET/2:30PM PT, formuladrift.com/live: Formula Drift Showdown (Top 16 through Finals)

The penultimate round of the 2018 Formula Drift season sees the series return to Texas Motor Speedway after a momentum-shifting debut at Gateway Motorsports Park. Fredric Aasbo’s win there, his second of the season, allowed him to shave the deficit to defending champion James Deane down to 30.

7PM ET/4PM PT, MAVTV: Kentuckiana Ford Dealers ARCA Fall Classic

The second ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards event of 2018 at Salem Speedway will be a crucial one for Zane Smith, as he looks to catch Sheldon Creed in the season’s final three races. Chandler Smith (pole) and Christian Eckes (race) swept the spring Salem visit for Venturini Motorsports.

Sunday, September 16

12AM ET/9PM PT (Saturday), wrcplus.com: WRC Rally Turkey Day 4

The final four stages of Rally Turkey include two passes at Marmaris, the shortest stage of the day at 7.14 kilometers but also the final stage of the event and thus the Power Stage. It’s here that decisive moves will be made in the championship, currently on the cusp of becoming a three-way battle.

1AM ET/10PM PT (Saturday), MAVTV: ARCA Herr’s Potato Chips 200

If you’re staying up late after the ARCA action from Salem, catch a bonus broadcast of the series’ visit to Madison International Speedway from June. After earning the pole with a lap of 18.197 seconds, Chandler Smith would shoot for the weekend sweep against some of the sport’s top young drivers.

8:05AM ET/5:05AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Singapore Grand Prix

It’s now or never if Sebastian Vettel and Ferrari want to make up their deficits to Lewis Hamilton in F1 points. They enter 30 and 25 points back in the driver’s and manufacturer’s standings, respectively. Vettel’s pole here last year memorably yielded to a major incident, allowing Hamilton to take an easy win.

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series GEICO Off-Road Shootout (Pro 2/Pro Lite Round 5)

Last weekend, we saw the Pro 4 and Pro Buggy racers conquer the second day of LOORRS action at Lucas Oil Speedway; today, we’ll be watching the Pro 2 and Pro Lite action. (If you missed the Pro 4 and Pro Buggy show, set those DVRs now; it re-airs at 4AM ET/1AM PT on Friday, also on MAVTV.)

6:30PM ET/3:30PM PT, NBCSN: IndyCar Grand Prix of Sonoma

This is it: the decisive event of the 2018 IndyCar season bids farewell to both title sponsor Verizon and Sonoma Raceway. While a number of young guns vie for 2019 contracts, Alexander Rossi will look to outfox “The Iceman” Scott Dixon, who holds a 29-point advantage in pursuit of his fifth series title.

7:30PM ET/4:30PM PT, FS1: Dodge NHRA Nationals

Reading, Pennsylvania’s Maple Grove Raceway plays host to the first round of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series Countdown to the Championship. With only six events to make their mark, the stars of the Top Fuel, Funny Car, Pro Stock, and Pro Stock Motorcycle classes need to be on top of their game.

10PM ET/7PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown (Pro Lite/Turbo UTV Round 6)

It’s another truck and UTV combo telecast from Wild West Motorsports Park in this weekend’s LOORRS show on CBSSN. The deep Pro Lite field, combined with a similarly talented Turbo UTV group, makes up this showcase from the series’ lone Nevada round in 2018.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close