FeaturesWhat to Watch This Weekend

What to Watch This Weekend: September 21-23, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Subaru Rally Team USA (1); Josh Tons (2); John Force Racing (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Friday, September 21

2AM ET/11PM PT (Thursday), MAVTV: Best in the Desert General Tire Vegas to Reno (2017)

Set those DVRs! The United States’ longest point-to-point off-road race is the subject of this week’s throwback show to the 2017 Best in the Desert season. At over 500 miles of racing, Vegas to Reno is a uniquely challenging adventure for the most talented desert racers in the world.

10PM ET/7PM PT, lucasoilracing.tv: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Rockstar Energy Golden State Off-Road Nationals

What was supposed to be a single-round visit to Glen Helen in the fall expanded to a doubleheader when March’s season-opening event was postponed to now. That just means that the final six rounds of the 12-race LOORRS season all come in doubleheaders, including this Friday and Saturday’s action.

Saturday, September 22

10:30AM ET/7:30AM PT, CBSSN: Formula Drift Crossroads

Today’s Formula Drift highlights show on the CBS Sports Network visits the series’ debut at Gateway Motorsports Park, the sixth of eight rounds in the 2018 championship. A new event always means a wide open playing field, and this one definitely produced some surprise finishes.

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull High Point National (450/250 Moto 1)
3PM ET/12PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Red Bull High Point National (450/250 Moto 2)

Established in 1977, High Point has been a staple of the Pro Motocross schedule for ages. Coming into this year’s event, five different riders had topped the 450 action in the previous six years, with Ken Roczen’s back-to-back wins in 2015 and 2016 the only repeat victories in that timeframe.

4PM ET/1PM PT, Velocity/Motor Trend On Demand: Nitro Rallycross

Nitro World Games sanctions a rallycross event like we’ve never seen before at Utah Motorsports Campus this weekend, with a mix of racing formats all applied to a completely bonkers, dirt-heavy course. Saturday’s action will feature the qualifying rounds, which feature head-to-head heats.

10PM ET/7PM PT, lucasoilracing.tv: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Rockstar Energy Golden State Off-Road Nationals

Round 10 of the 2018 LOORRS season will see racers look to finish what they started at Glen Helen on Friday night. Whether it’s a tightly wound battle in Pro 4 you’re after, or if you’re admiring dominant seasons by Rob MacCachren or Ryan Beat in Pro 2 and Pro Lite, there’s plenty to get excited for.

10PM ET/7PM PT, MAVTV: ARCA Allen Crowe 100

Two rounds of this year’s ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards season take place on dirt ovals, and the first came at the end of August at the Illinois State Fair. The 100-lap dash featured a talented mix of ARCA regulars and incoming dirt track stars looking to play spoiler in the event.

Sunday, September 23

2PM ET/11AM PT, FS1: AAA Insurance NHRA Midwest Nationals

The second round of the NHRA Mello Yello Drag Racing Series’ Countdown to the Championship sees the sport take on Gateway Motorsports Park, now one of action motorsports’ most frequent venues. Steve Torrence, Ron Capps, Greg Anderson, and LE Tonglet are the defending race winners.

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown (Pro 4/Pro Buggy Round 6)

We’re into the halfway point of the 2018 LOORRS season on TV, with the action on MAVTV now shifting to Wild West Motorsports Park in Nevada. The Pro 4 and Pro Buggy action from the sixth of 12 rounds in the current season are the focus of Sunday’s show; it re-airs at 5PM ET/2PM PT if you miss it.

4:30PM ET/1:30PM PT, Velocity/Motor Trend On Demand: Nitro Rallycross

After Saturday’s qualifying rounds, Sunday’s Nitro Rallycross action ups the car count as more and more cars are gradually added to the track. It all culminates in an eight-lap, six-car final on a wild track that includes a three-way, multi-level jump, rhythm section, and plenty of banked dirt corners.

10PM ET/7PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown (Pro Lite/Turbo UTV Round 6)

It’s another truck and UTV combo telecast from Wild West Motorsports Park in this weekend’s LOORRS show on CBSSN. The deep Pro Lite field, combined with a similarly talented Turbo UTV group, makes up this showcase from the series’ lone Nevada round in 2018.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close