FeaturesThis Week in Action Motorsports

What to Watch This Weekend: September 29-30, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Subaru Rally Team USA (1); Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series (2)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Saturday, September 29

All day, check social media channels: FIA World Rallycross of the United States (includes Americas Rallycross)

Rallycross fans in the United States finally get back-to-back race weekends in 2018; after Nitro World Games in Utah last weekend, Circuit of the Americas plays host to its inaugural World RX event and the ARX season finale. Look to series social media accounts for broadcast and streaming information.

7AM ET/4AM PT PT, CBSSN: Stadium Super Trucks at Road America

If you missed this on Wednesday night, be sure to set your DVR. Buoyed by the additions of NASCAR stars Greg Biffle and Casey Mears to an already talented field, SST’s inaugural visit to Road America was tons of fun—even if they used an abridged version of the course until the last lap of each race.

7:55AM ET/4:55AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Russian Grand Prix Qualifying

Only six races remain in the 2018 Formula 1 season, with 40 points separating Mercedes’ Lewis Hamilton from Ferrari’s Sebastian Vettel in the standings. The title is by no means wrapped up, but with seven points separating first and second, considering Hamilton’s strength, Vettel basically needs to win out.

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Tennessee National (450/250 Moto 1)
3PM ET/12PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Tennessee National (450/250 Moto 2)

MAVTV’s weekly re-airs of the 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season have reached Round 5, as Muddy Creek Raceway plays host to this week’s show. Eli Tomac looks to continue his dominance, while a brand new 250 rider aims for the overall victory despite not winning either of the two motos in Tennessee.

10PM ET/7PM PT, MAVTV: ARCA General Tire Grabber 150

Last week’s ARCA show on MAVTV featured one dirt oval at the Illinois State Fair; this week’s show features the other one in DuQuoin. The General Tire Grabber 150 always attracts an interesting mix of drivers, and in fact claims Tony Stewart and Ken Schrader among its previous race winners.

Sunday, September 30

All day, check social media channels: FIA World Rallycross of the United States (includes Americas Rallycross)

American rallycross fans could see both of this year’s IMG-sanctioned championships wrapped up in Austin: ARX may be entering its finale anyway, but Johan Kristoffersson’s World RX lead is big enough to lock it up coming in with points to spare. Again, check series social media accounts for stream times.

7:05AM ET/4:05AM PT, ESPN2: Formula 1 Russian Grand Prix

With the grid set on Saturday, it’s time to go racing in Russia! Dating back to the first two Russian GPs in the early 1900s, which were won by a pair of Benz drivers, a factory Mercedes vehicle has never lost a Formula 1 race in the country. Can Ferrari or Red Bull break the streak on Sunday?

2PM ET/11AM PT, ABC: Polaris RZR UTV World Championship powered by Monster Energy

Mad Media’s documentaries as part of the World of X Games series are always a stellar look into what it takes to top the field in desert racing, and this weekend’s look at the UTV World Championship will be no different. Look out for Jim Beaver, Jolene Van Vugt, and Dax Shepard in the Polaris RZR Star Car!

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown (Turbo UTV/Pro 2 Round 6)

More action from Lucas Oil Off Road’s annual visit to Nevada is always worth tuning in for! Sunday’s show features the evenly-matched Turbo UTV class, new for 2018, and a stacked Pro 2 field. As always, MAVTV’s Sunday afternoon LOORRS show re-airs at 5PM ET/2PM PT if you miss it.

8:30PM ET/5:30PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series General Tire Utah Off-Road Nationals (Pro 4/Pro Buggy Round 7)

The second half of the 2018 LOORRS season kicks off on the CBS Sports Network with a look at two of the sport’s top classes at Utah Motorsports Campus. RJ Anderson leads the Pro 4 standings coming into the final six rounds of the year, while Darren Hardesty paces a strong Pro Buggy contingent.

2AM ET (Monday)/11PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series Marathon

Let that DVR run all night! Four full hours of LOORRS action, bookended by the Pro 4 and Pro Buggy action from Utah that aired earlier in the night. The marathon also includes two more rounds of action from Wild West Motorsports Park, featuring Pro 2, Pro Lite, and both UTV classes.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button