Features

What to Watch This Weekend: September 7-9, 2018

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Venturini Motorsports (1); Pro Motocross (2); CORE autosport (3)

Finding it hard to keep track of all the racing that’s airing on TV or streaming online this weekend? Here are just some of the epic events that you’ll want to watch on Saturday and Sunday, along with television or line streaming information so you can watch it happen live:

Friday, September 7

5AM ET/2AM PT, MAVTV: Best in the Desert Parker 425 (2017)

Talk about a Flashback Friday! Go all the way back to the beginning of the 2017 Best in the Desert season with the series’ annual visit to Parker, Arizona, home of Jim Beaver and 425 miles of the most challenging off-road racing you’ll see anywhere in America.

9PM ET/6PM PT, MAVTV: ARCA Shore Lunch 200

The Brickyard isn’t the only place in Indianapolis to see stock car racing this weekend. Lucas Oil Raceway will host one of the most exciting ARCA races of the season on Friday, as past champions like Chase Briscoe and up-and-comers like Harrison Burton will join a deep pool of regulars for 200 laps.

Saturday, September 8

1PM ET/10AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Giant RV Glen Helen National (450/250 Moto 1)
3PM ET/12PM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Pro Motocross Giant RV Glen Helen National (450/250 Moto 2)

MAVTV’s replay coverage of the 2018 Lucas Oil Pro Motocross season takes us next to Glen Helen, where the second event of the season featured a pair of sweeps from two of the sport’s top riders. The iconic course always puts on some of the best action of the season, and 2018 was no exception. 

10PM ET/7PM PT, MAVTV: ARCA Sioux Chief PowerPEX 250

Elko Speedway played host to this round of the ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards in July, over a month later than its 2017 race date. With defending winner and series champion Austin Theriault not in the field, a surprise winner broke a 12-race winning streak for Toyota to start the 2018 season.

Sunday, September 9

6AM ET/3AM PT, CBSSN: FIA World Rallycross of France

Rallycross has become significantly harder to find on television in 2018 as a result of shifts in the sport’s landscape, but if you’re persistent, you can find it on the CBS Sports Network alongside their coverage of DTM, Trans-Am, and numerous other racing series. Loheac is featured in this week’s broadcast.

2PM ET/11AM PT, MAVTV: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series GEICO Off-Road Shootout (Pro 4/Pro Buggy Round 5)

The first of two Lucas Oil Off Road telecasts on Sunday sees the sport’s Pro 4 and Pro Buggy racers take on Lucas Oil Speedway in their second of two doubleheader rounds from earlier this summer. The Missouri-based course serves as a great lead-in for Sunday night’s additional telecast on CBSSN.

5PM ET/2PM PT, FS1: IMSA America’s Tire 250

The WeatherTech SportsCar Championship caps off a light week for live racing with two hours and 40 minutes of action at WeatherTech Raceway Laguna Seca. One of the most popular road courses in America, it’ll also be back on the IndyCar Series schedule for 2019 as the season finale.

10PM ET/7PM PT, CBSSN: Lucas Oil Off Road Racing Series K&N Filters Silver State Showdown (Pro 2/Production 1000 UTV Round 6)

Last week’s CBSSN show on LOORRS’ annual visit to Nevada featured the Pro 4 and Pro Buggy classes; this week, you’ll still get a class of Pro truck action, but they’ll be combined with the sport’s popular UTV division. One thing is for absolute certain: sparks always fly at the Sparks-based track.

Tags
Show More

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Close