2020 Monster Energy Supercross: Season Preview

by Chris Leone // Website // Twitter
Images via Supercross

17 rounds of action await some of the world’s biggest superstars on two wheels as the 2020 Monster Energy Supercross season kicks off this week at Angel Stadium of Anaheim. This year’s calendar features another slate of popular events across the United States, from the annual dual visits to Anaheim to four host cities that didn’t make it to last year’s championship: St. Louis, Tampa, Foxborough, and Salt Lake City, the new home of the season finale on May 2.

Defending champions Cooper Webb (450), Dylan Ferrandis (250 West), and Chase Sexton (250 East) will all look to make it back-to-back triumphs in their respective classes, and regions, this year. Both 250 riders will be saying farewell to the smaller bike after this year, with Ferrandis needing to look for a home in 2021 and Sexton likely to pair with Ken Roczen at Honda HRC, as he’ll replace Justin Brayton with the team later this year after Supercross concludes.


The silly season wasn’t quite as lively as last year’s influx of rookie talent, but plenty of faces still changed places. Adam Cianciarulo moved up to a 450 alongside Eli Tomac at Monster Energy Kawasaki, Brayton returned to a factory Honda, and Dean Wilson saw his factory status with Husqvarna reconfirmed as part of a three-rider lineup for this year alongside Zach Osborne and 2018 champion Jason Anderson. Add in reliable front-runners like Blake Baggett, Justin Barcia, and Aaron Plessinger returning to their 2019 seats, and this year’s 450 lineup features no shortage of talent.

Two notable riders won’t be lining up at the gate in Anaheim, and both may end up missing the entire season. Red Bull KTM has already confirmed that Marvin Musquin will miss the year, marking the third time in the past 10 seasons that the French standout has missed an entire season. JGRMX’s Joey Savatgy is in the same boat; after Cianciarulo bumped him off of the factory Kawasaki, Savatgy landed on the Suzuki team, only to have injury befall him shortly thereafter. Fredrik Noren will be the team’s lead 450 rider, while 250 riders Alex Martin and Jimmy Decotis should make some starts on the larger bikes as well.

Here’s a look at some of the biggest names in the 450 rider lineup that are expected to line up for the season opener at Anaheim:




1 Cooper Webb Red Bull KTM
3 Eli Tomac Monster Energy Kawasaki
4 Blake Baggett Rocky Mountain ATV/MC-WPS-KTM
7 Aaron Plessinger Monster Energy Yamaha
9 Adam Cianciarulo Monster Energy Kawasaki
10 Justin Brayton Honda HRC
15 Dean Wilson Rockstar Energy Husqvarna
16 Zach Osborne Rockstar Energy Husqvarna
19 Justin Bogle Rocky Mountain ATV/MC-WPS-KTM
21 Jason Anderson Rockstar Energy Husqvarna
22 Chad Reed TwoTwo Motorsports
27 Malcolm Stewart Smartop/Bullfrog Spas/MotoConcepts Honda
31 Fredrik Noren JGRMX/Yoshimura Suzuki Factory Racing
35 Tyler Bowers Triggr Racing/AHM Kawasaki
37 Martin Davalos Team Tedder/Monster/Lucas Oil KTM
46 Justin Hill Smartop/Bullfrog Spas/MotoConcepts Honda
50 Benny Bloss Rock River Yamaha
51 Justin Barcia Monster Energy Yamaha
62 Alex Ray SGB/Maxxis/Babbitt’s Kawasaki
65 Vince Friese Smartop/Bullfrog Spas/MotoConcepts Honda
94 Ken Roczen Honda HRC
111 Dakota Tedder Team Tedder/Monster/Lucas Oil KTM
330 AJ Catanzaro SGB/Maxxis/Babbitt’s Kawasaki
722 Adam Enticknap HEP Motorsports Suzuki

The 2020 Monster Energy Supercross season opener from Anaheim airs live on Saturday at 10PM ET/7PM PT on the NBC Sports Network. This year’s Supercross preview show also airs directly beforehand.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Back to top button