FeaturesJim Beaver eSports

Jim Beaver eSports Goes Retro With 1987 NASCAR Cup Series Cars

The esports world was taken by storm earlier this month when the top two cars from the 1987 NASCAR Cup Series, driven by Dale Earnhardt and Bill Elliott, made their debut on iRacing. Jim Beaver eSports immediately welcomed the new machines into its fleet of sim racing exploits, and now some of the team’s top drivers are all ready to go for two big events: the eRacr.gg Firecracker 400 that kicks off tonight, and the OSCC Throwback Series that runs on Fridays through October 9. Jim Beaver eSports’ fleet of Ford Thunderbirds feature special retro graphics reflecting classic paint schemes, as well as some of the team’s top partners and their branding in 1987.

Keith Jeffery is one of six JBeS team members running this year’s Firecracker 400, and one of three to run both that event and the OSCC season, in the #65 General Tire Ford. The two-time and defending EastWest Promotions modified champion finished fifth in his OSCC Duel and will pull double duty on Friday, starting 11th in the OSCC Daytona 500 and running a Firecracker 400 qualifier on the same night.

Matt Everhart joins Jeffery in both events, trading his traditional #07 for the #43 as he pursues strong finishes in the Polaris Ford Thunderbird. Everhart designed the team’s paint schemes for both series, and is scheduled to start 15th in the OSCC opener thanks to a seventh place run in last week’s Duel after attempting to qualify for the Firecracker 400 on Thursday.

Dave Bodio returns to his traditional #16, carrying the same Vision Wheel colors and paint scheme that he ran to multiple strong finishes in the eShort Course Triple Crown. The winningest driver in EastWest Promotions modified history, Bodio will trade open wheels for fenders in the OSCC season.

Joining Jeffery and Everhart in the Firecracker 400 are Connor Parise, Hunter Stiffler, and Bobby Rafferty, each running alternate versions of the General Tire, Polaris, and Vision Wheel paints. Rafferty kicks off the JBeS fleet in the first race of the night tonight, while Stiffler pairs up with Everhart in a dual Polaris race in the second qualifier and Parise will take on the third race on Friday.

eNASCAR Coca-Cola iRacing Series driver Eric J. Smith will utilize the same #9 Big Green Egg Ford that he runs in iRacing’s premier stock car championship, albeit with a paint scheme that pays tribute to the car that was scanned to create the division—Bill Elliott’s record-setting Melling Racing Ford. Like Elliott himself, Big Green Egg calls the state of Georgia home. Smith finished a strong fourth in his OSCC Duel last week and will roll off ninth for Friday night’s race at Daytona, before doing Firecracker 400 double duty later in the night.

Also working with JBeS for the Firecracker 400 is NTT IndyCar Series race winner and current driver/owner Ed Carpenter, who will be representing the LCQ League in his #20 Chevrolet. Carpenter, a three-time Indianapolis 500 polesitter who finished second in the event just two years ago, quickly took to sim racing after joining the iRacing IndyCar Challenge, and is the all-time winningest driver in LCQ League history with five wins against the likes of Conor Daly, Chad Reed, Alexander Rossi, James Hinchcliffe, and Travis Pastrana, among others.

Jim Beaver eSports drivers in the Firecracker 400 will run in the following events, which will be streamed on the eRacr.gg Facebook page:

  • Bobby Rafferty: Race 1, Thursday, 8:15PM ET
  • Hunter Stiffler/Matt Everhart: Race 2, Thursday, 9:05PM ET
  • Ed Carpenter: Race 3, Thursday, 9:55PM ET
  • Keith Jeffery: Race 6, Friday, 9:05PM ET
  • Connor Parise: Race 7, Friday, 9:55PM ET
  • Eric J. Smith: Race 8, Friday, 10:45PM ET

The OSCC Throwback Series opener from Daytona will run on Friday at 8:30PM ET, with Bottom Split handling the broadcast.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Check Also
Back to top button